ACTIVITIES 2019

JANUARY 2019

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday January 9, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Cicada pattern with Peter Dickson
Date: Wednesday January 16, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

2019 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
IMPORTANT – All CFFA members please attend or send a proxy to vote in your absence.
AGM’s are often like watching paint dry but don’t miss the chance to win an Airflo Brookie (7’9” 6wt) and enjoy a free soft drink.
Please advise Simon Hall if you would like to nominate for a Committee Role.
Date: Wednesday January 23, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

FEBRUARY 2019

FLY CASTING
Rowie will be putting members through their paces.
Venue: Dixon Reserve, Gisborne
Date: Wednesday February 6, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

TASMANIA CLUB TRIP
Venue: Miena, TAS
Date: Friday February 8, 2019 – Tuesday February 12, 2019
Please contact Simon if you wish to come along.

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday February 13, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Hopper
Date: Wednesday February 20, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

FEBRUARY GENERAL MEETING – TONIC EYEWEAR
Calder is delighted to have Doug Phillips from Tonic Eyewear as our February guest speaker. Tonic are a leading brand in the sunglass industry specialising in Fishing & Fly Fishing eyewear. There will be great raffles prizes on the night.
Date: Wednesday Feb 27, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

MARCH 2019

FLY CASTING
Rowie will be putting members through their paces.
Venue: Dixon Reserve, Gisborne
Date: Wednesday March 6, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday March 13, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

BUNNINGS SAUSAGE SIZZLE (Fundraising)
Venue: Sunbury
Date: Sunday March 17, 2019
Please contact Simon if you are able to help on the day.

FLY TYING
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Cod flies with Ben
Date: Wednesday March 20, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

MARCH GENERAL MEETING – Hinchinbrook
This month’s talk should be a cracker! Clint Isaak from the Australian Fly Fishing Lodge will be talking about tropical sight and flats fishing around Hinchinbrook Island in Far North Queensland.

Clint will be talking about the various species that are targeted from barramundi to permit, as well as the flies used and some techniques on how to fish the area.

Date: Wednesday March 27, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

BFFC – 2 FLY COMPETITION
Ballarat Fly Fishing Club annual competition.
Venue: Wendouree, Ballarat
Date: Sat March 30 – Sunday March 31, 2019

APRIL 2019

FLY CASTING
Rowie will be putting members through their paces.
Venue: Dixon Reserve Croquet Club, Gisborne
Date: Wednesday April 3, 2019
Time: 7 pm

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday April 10, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING WITH MIKE VAN DE GRAFF
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: CDC Dry Fly
Date: Wednesday April 17, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

**NO APRIL GENERAL MEETING**
There is no April GM due to Easter and ANZAC Day.

MAY 2019

MURRAY COD CLUB TRIP
Venue: TBA
Date: Saturday evening May 4th & Sunday morning May 5th 2019
Please contact Ben if you wish to come along.

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday May 8, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING WITH PETER DIXON
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Midge
Date: Wednesday May 15, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

MAY GENERAL MEETING – MOVIE NIGHT
Date: Wednesday May 22, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

JUNE 2019

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday June 12, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING WITH DUSAN
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Smelt
Date: Wednesday June 19, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

JUNE GENERAL MEETING – AUCTION
Grab a bargain or make some cash
Bring your unwanted fly fishing, conventional fishing or camping gear along to auction off.  Bring a list of items with reserve prices.

Pizzas will be served during the evening.

Cash on the night only. No holds.

Date: Wednesday June 26, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

JULY 2019

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday July 10, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING WITH PETER DIXON
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Smelt
Date: Wednesday July 17, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

JULY GENERAL MEETING – WINTER FISHING

Our July GM will be a practical and informative session on winter techniques. Be sure to come along and hear local advice on fly selection, leaders, gear and everything you need to know on improving your catch rate.

Date: Wednesday July 24th, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

CLUB TRIP LOCAL LAKES
Location: Moorabool
Date: Saturday July 27th, 2019
Time: 8am

AUGUST 2019

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: August 14, 2019

CLUB TRIP LOCAL LAKES
Location: Newlyn (meet at dam wall carpark)
Date: Saturday August 17th, 2019
Time: 9:30am

FLY TYING WITH PETER DIXON
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Sloane’s Fur Fly
Date: Wednesday August 21, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30 pm

AUGUST GENERAL MEETING – EURO NYMPHING FOR BEGINNERS

Mike van de Graff will be showing us how to get ready for the new season with some euro nymphing.

Date: Wednesday August 28, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

RISE FLY FISHING FILM FESTIVAL

24/08/2019: Ballarat Fly Fishers

26/08/2019: Classic Elsternwick

27/08/2019: Theatre Royal Castlemaine

28/08/2019: Sun Theatre Yarraville

SEPTEMBER 2019

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: September 11, 2019

FLY TYING WITH PETER DIXON 
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies: Damsel nymph
Date: Wednesday September 18, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

SEPTEMBER GENERAL MEETING WITH EDDIE FRAKAR
NEW ZEALAND – PERFECT BY DESIGN

Eddie will be explaining how to make your trip to NZ a success.
We can’t wait for this one!

Date: Wednesday September 25, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

OCTOBER 2019

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday October 9, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies:
Date: Wednesday October 16, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

OCTOBER GENERAL MEETING
MIDGE SECRETS WITH SCOTTY X
Date: Wednesday October 23, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

Wilderness guide Scotty X will be delivering an informative talk on fishing the midge. Much mystery surrounds the smallest of trout foods but it’s easier than you’d think. Scott will reveal every little midge secret he’s picked up whilst guiding and fishing.

BFFC WASTELL TROPHY
The Ballarat Fly Fishing Club is holding the annual Wastell Trophy competition, which is now catch and release.
Date: Saturday October 26, 2019
Time: TBC

NOVEMBER 2019

COMMITTEE MEETING
Date: Wednesday November 13, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm

FLY TYING
Cost: $10 per night per family or individual to cover materials & room hire.
$5 per night for Health Care Card holders.
Flies:
Date: Wednesday November 20, 2019
Time: 7:30 – 9:30pm

NOVEMBER GENERAL MEETING
Date: Wednesday November 27, 2019
Time: 7:45 pm

DECEMBER 2019

Early December: Mansfield trip with Bendigo Fly Fishers


COMMITTEE MEETING & XMAS BREAK UP

Date: Wednesday December 11, 2019
Time: 7:30 pm
Venue: Pub in Gisborne

PLEASE NOTE: NO GENERAL MEETING OR FLY TYING IN DECEMBER DUE TO XMAS